Terrible, Horrible, No-Good, Very Bad Day

August 6, 2009

A short list, in bullet points, of bad things that happened today:

  • I walked into a rack full of fixtures and took a chunk out of my arm. (Tears came to my eyes, y’all. When I returned to wipe THE BLOOD off the floor I found a chunk of skin and a blond arm hair on the fixture.)
  • I was screamed at by a customer.
  • I was screamed at by my boss.
  • I received a pervy prank phone call that included the words “shove it in your mouth, Jackie” and heavy breathing.
  • I was lied to by team members.

Why do people lie and say they will do things they have no intention of doing? It isn’t as if it was a forgotten task, or something that was simply overlooked–it was a conscious decision to tell me one thing and do another. Why would you not just say, “I”m sorry, Jackie, I can’t do that today,” instead of committing to the task and then flaking?

The pervy phone call pushed it all over the top, though. I could have survived otherwise. As is, I must retire to my bed with a bar of chocolate and a Bill Bryson  book.

3 Responses to “Terrible, Horrible, No-Good, Very Bad Day”

  1. Chris said

    Sorry you had a rough day. Some days, it seems like nothing goes right. You definitely need to report that phone call to the cops though. That is just plain C-R-E-E-P-Y, imho.

  2. Sovawanea said

    Did you answer the phone and say your name? Or did they know? If the former I would say cop notifying optional. Otherwise I agree with Chris.

    • jacquelynjoy said

      When I answer the phone, after I give my little greeting speech, I always say “This is Jackie!” so that’s how he knew my name. Still creeptastic.

Leave a comment