The 16th-Street Players

August 21, 2009

I thought that you might appreciate a brief overview of those who might grace these pages from time to time. Some of the names will be real, some will not, because, well, not everyone would appreciate their name being smeared all across my personal public diary.

So, there’s me, I’m Jackie and welcome to my humble abode. I like to talk about my kid, fashion and my life in general, along with my oh-so-important and probably underinformed opinions on various subjects.

Leila– My precious “baby” who is no longer a baby, headed to kindergarten in just over a week, sassy, smart, and crazy observant. This last is a problem–I am stuck answering all kinds of confusing questions. That’s a whole other post, though.

Fi– Leila’s father and my former husband, whose name is rather distinct and yet not so uncommon. God forbid someone google it and find my scribbles, so I will leave him with this nickname, which I have occasionally called him by. (Often because it irritates him and also because it amuses me.) He is a big reason I consider myself a hippie parent–our relationship is friendly even post-divorce and we try hard to “co-parent” instead of fighting and struggling for power and positions of “the favorite parent” — ya know? I believe he is a good man even if he wasn’t the right man for me.

Amanda– My roommate and best friend,the person I bounce most of my thoughts and ideas off of. We can discuss religion as we try on shoes and enjoy ourselves thoroughly. I mostly refer to her as my husband. I imagine you’ll see why soon enough.

Jay– Her boyfriend. Cute, smart, sportswriter for a local newspaper.

Sammy– An online friend with whom I often discuss tough subjects. We disagree on religion but agree on tolerance and it makes for good, long tete-a-tetes. I mention him now because I will probably bring up things we’ve spoken about in future posts.

David– My boyfriend. We’ve been together, long distance but with frequent visits, for two years. He’s mellow, patient, and kind. He’s also a huge nerd, but I forgive him for that one. After all, I do have a blog.

Grace– My closest “Mommy” friend. Her daughter is the same age as Leila and we have much in common. She is one of the funniest people I have ever met. Our playdates never fail to lift my spirits.

I’ve probably temporarily forgotten important people, but these are the day-to-day lovelies.

(I love that my spellcheck doesn’t recognize Google, online, and blog.)

One Response to “The 16th-Street Players”

  1. apparently a name is required... said

    i…i…have been neglected! i feel so under appreciated! and after i offered you a baby kitten and everything!

    p.s. i want my code name to be Ezra. 😀

Leave a Reply

