Annoyances

January 29, 2010

You: walk up to me and say, “Do you work here?”

I have on: a name badge. A lanyard. A walkie talkie.

I am carrying: a huge ring with every key to every damn door, drawer, nook and cranny in the store.

I am: folding a table full of clothing, chatting with another associate.

Yes. I work here. I am also in charge.  These things are obvious. Do you need a segue into asking me for help? You could, perhaps, say something like, “Hi, how are you?” and when I respond then you could say, “I had a question…” or “I needed help with…”

You: dump your things on the counter and launch into a tirade of questions, complaints, or orders.

I: am a human being. Please say hello to me. Please respond in kind when I ask you how you are doing.

You: never say please or thank you.

I: am sick of it.

2 Responses to “Annoyances”

  1. Lanky said

    Poor Jackie. Unfortunately you are in retail so that automatically makes you less than human. You are a drone to them, they neither care nor are interested in you as a human being. You are simply there so that they can purchase things.

    It sucks but such is the life of a retail drone.

  2. Jackie Joy said

    I am not a drone; I’m the queen bee!

Leave a Reply

